Leave a comment

Terms of Endearment

Everyone has their own little quirky name for their significant other.

  • Babe
  • Boo
  • Honey
  • Hee-nie (which is my mom’s spin on Honey)
  • Sweets
  • Love
  • Pookie (Ok, the only time I have actually heard this was reading Garfield when I was little)

My husband calls me “Wife.”

Yes really. He calls me that at home and he calls me that in public. Around friends, family and co-workers alike.

Seems a little obvious, yes. Perhaps suggests a lack of creativity (not true). I have heard that it even offends some people. Why that is I don’t know because what my husband calls me really has nothing to do with anyone else, but whatever.

What do I think?

I love it. LOVE IT.

To hear my husband call me “wife” suggests a few things to me:

  • Pride
  • Ownership
  • Companionship
  • Love
  • Intimacy

There is no more intimate relationship (when done right) than between a husband and a wife and I for one am proud to hear in an audible way that my husband loves me. Maybe it doesn’t suggest “love” to you, but it does to me.

When I walk in the door after a long day and he greets me at the door with my wiggling pup besides him and he says, “There’s my wife,” I think I have never heard sweeter words spoken and I rushed home just to hear them. I rushed home just to give him a kiss and a hug.

Husband. Wife.

The only terms of endearment I need.

Love you snookiwookiepookikins

Leave a Reply

