2 Comments

Fitness Challenge: Week 2

Week two in the books.

We had our weekly meeting and weigh-in last night and I was ecstatic to learn I dropped 1.8 lbs last week! The best news is that I can physically feel the difference in my body, the reshaping taking place, which is better than simple weight lost.  Looking forward to next week when we actually do our half-way body measurements.

So what did I learn this week?

1. I learned that there is always time for a work out. Always.
Sometimes that means waking up at 5:30 to get one in before work, but that is actually how I prefer it. My eyes are wide open at 5:30 each morning now.

2. I learned that walking the Clarksburg Trail with my friend JoDee and our dogs for 60 minutes at a 3.0 mph pace burns exactly 245 calories. It is a great after-work exercise, particularly now that it is light outside. It makes for perfect conversation and the pups are pretty happy too!

3. I learned, once again, Derek is my greatest motivator. Not only did he encourage me to keep it up over and over again, tell me how proud he was of me over and over again, but he actually participated in two of my scripted workouts with me! (PS, he doesn’t appreciate Burpees any more than I do)

4.I learned that if I bust out a morning workout, take a shower but still need my hair to be professional (see: straightened) that day, I can drive to work while my hair dries and flat iron it in our work gym bathroom and still be in my office on time.

5. I learned that Speedy Spin class at 6:10 am is a killer. I mean, like I nearly died on the bike. It was even more embarrassing  because the five other members of the class were at least 40-50 years old and they seemed to be handling the pain fine. Hmmm

Things I need to work on:

1. Running. I am fairly sure this will always be the bain of my existence, but I am committed to running 3-4 times a week and maybe SOMEDAY, I’ll be able to go farther than a mile without falling over.

2. Eating more. I know, sounds odd right? However, due to the mostly two-a-day workouts, I am not consuming enough calories, even for a diet. However, I’m not hungry, so I am going to have to work on that.

I am so thankful for this experience thus far. The people in the challenge are fantastic, the trainers know me by name and are full of encouragement and advice. I am already hard in to week three and counting.

2 comments on “Fitness Challenge: Week 2

  1. Glad to know i’m not the only one who despises runnin. I was starting to feel that way, so many of my friends are avid runners, I personally think they are crazy 🙂 keep up the hard work!

  2. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time
    a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

